Making state government in Ohio simpler, faster, better, and less costly. .
  Search
 
LeanOhio Boot Camp: Transforming the Public Sector

• Intended for: Public-sector employees
• Length: 4 days
• Prerequisites: none

This intensive training gets people learning and using Lean methods and tools. The program is tailored to the public-sector workplace and public-sector processes. This is practical training aimed at generating results. Included is an in-depth simulation involving a prototypical agency, so participants build their toolkits by way of real-world, hands-on activities. Participants will be able to use their new knowledge and skills immediately – to make public organizations simpler, faster, better, and less costly.

When LeanOhio Boot Camp participants complete their week of training, they are newly equipped to:

• Select and complete a process improvement project
• Make invisible processes visible so they can be dramatically simplified
• Be an effective improvement team member
• Identify the leading causes of waste
• Decrease the complexity of processes and eliminate unneeded steps
• Develop requirements for an efficient process before implementing IT solutions
• Create a dashboard of visual data to easily measure progress

Training topics include:

• PDCA and A3 method for improvement
• Project selection and scoping
• SIPOC and Process mapping
• Waste
• Data collection and display
• Standard work
• Batching
• 5S
• Poka-yoke
• Team dynamics
• Visual management
• Change management
• Understanding your customers
• Additional tools 

LeanOhio Boot Camp was designed by a public-sector team of Lean Six Sigma Black Belts with years of experience in government. Team members have planned, led, and facilitated hundreds of Lean events, including major Kaizen events that have saved millions of dollars.
 
 
Summary table of recent local projects

Detailed information about select projects

• See below for a map of workshop providers

 
 
LeanOhio Boot Camp for Local Government in Ohio

The Lean Ohio Boot Camp training course is offered to local government employees through a number of colleges and universities around the state for a fee. Please contact one of these institutions for more information.


Cincinnati State Technical and Community College
Sean Johnson
sean.johnson@cincinnatistate.edu
513-569-1459

Clark State University
Toni Overholser
overholsert@clarkstate.edu
937-431-7164

Cleveland State University
Robert J. Ziol
r.ziol@csuohio.edu
216-687-3509

Cuyahoga Community College
Samantha Kaplan
samantha.kaplan@tri-c.edu
216-987-2927

Kent State University
Patrick Allen
pallen12@kent.edu
330-672-5828

Miami University
Rosanne Gully
gulleycr@miamioh.edu
513-529-4226

Muskingum Valley Educational Service Center
Brad Hollingsworth
brad.hollingsworth@mvesc.org
740-452-4518 ext. 148

Northwest State Community College
Jim Drewes
jdrewes@northweststate.edu
419-267-1439

The Partnership for Excellence
Margot Hoffman
margot.hoffman@partnershipohio.org
614-425-7157